KEMAS Skills Program has been implemented since 1969 which is known as Work Training Class (Kelas Latih Kerja (KLK)). The purpose of the program is to teach skills for sewing, embroidery and handicraft for personel and family usage as well as to generate family income. This program is implemented in Non-Formal Education and is managed by the KEMAS Community Developer.   In 1970, the Adult Education Division was restructured and was renamed to Community Development Division (KEMAS) in line with the implementation of the New Economic Policy (NEP) with a purpose to change the attitude of the rural community and ensuring that they could accept the progress and development progressively as well as providing training to the rural community so they could actively involve in an effort to raise their own economy. The restructuring of the Community Development Department (KEMAS) on 19 January 2015 has led to the re-branding of the Community Education Division to the Skills Education Division.

    The training is focused on six (6) areas of expertise in line with the vision of the division which is to improve the knowledge, skills and expertise of the latest technology among rural communities. The areas are:

    1. Cooking
    2. Sewing
    3. Grooming
    4. Family Wellness Education (PKK)
    5. Handcraft
    6. Computers

    This training aims to guide and improve the quality of rural human capital and to produce competitive entrepreneurs. This is in line with one of the KEMAS mission which is to enhance the competency of rural communities in order for them to be independent and able to improve their standard of living in terms of education, social and economic life.

    This division has two (2) main units:

    1. Skills Education Unit
    2. Academic Development Unit and Accredited Centers